Icarus

It was back to work today, in the Office. 

It has an unreal feel to it at the moment. It is a bit like the end of term at school or university. I look at things which are going on in the election campaign (locally and nationally) and wonder where we’ll be this time next week. 

The Office looks like a bomb hit it, because the entire contents of the Boss’ office in Parliament had to be either binned or moved through here at the end of March when Parliament dissolved.  

Whatever the opinion polls suggest - and they are there to suggest things to voters - they are wrong often enough. This time around the pandemic adds other layers of uncertainty. 

It is a time when my usual avoidance of TV and radio is a real bonus. Whatever my perceptions may be, they are not the ones the media want me to have.

What is missing this time is the conversations with voters and other campaigners which give you a feel for what voters may be thinking. Perhaps I will start asking around on Monday.

One of the things I usually do in the Office is flick through the various publications which arrive, just in case they contain something relevant. I almost started to do it this morning, and then remembered there’s no point. Maybe next Saturday…

Anyway, in the absence of anything inspirational to Blip, they had to do. 

Before any sharp eyed critic hits me with a comment about taxpayer money being wasted on me reading the Falkland Islands Newsletter, you can be quite sure that a quick glance at the contents page is perfectly adequate. It’s the same with The House, to be honest. A depressing waste of paper and money.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.