Bravado

Ah well, a day which started brightly enough and then went downhill very rapidly.

Work being work, the bigger issues have to remain shrouded in mystery to the outsider, but it is the same for many of us. 

The bright spots included getting back to having a halloumi burger at my desk for Sunday lunch. What a life. 

Right afterwards I went over to the nearby library to return books and get some new ones. I had a friendly chat with the staff about them wearing masks, and again, expressed my support. It was another bright spot. 

When I got home after work, Junior had dropped off a wee box of the chocolates his sister makes. A real, super-duper bright spot. Thanks to some amazing and totally unexpected self control, I have only eaten half. Now I just have to stay out of the kitchen until bed time. 

When I had opened the office door to go out to the library, I was confronted by a man standing about a metre away. He explained that he had just been released after an overnight stay in the cells in the police station around the corner. He did not have a phone. He wanted to use the office phone to get someone to pick him up. 

Yes, just what you need when you are on your own and the office door is wide open. I assumed it might be some kind of ploy and I would be "jumped" if I moved to go back inside. 

Decisions, decisions, eh. 

I told him politely to move right along, in my most confident and authoritative voice, while puffing out my chest and standing as tall as possible. He did. 

Bottom line - tomorrow is a new day, isn't it. Monday of course, but WTF. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.