Walpurgis Eve - 30 April

The last day of April is normally a big festive occasion in Sweden, involving large fires, gatherings of people, and sometimes fireworks. Because of the climate up here it is always interesting to take part, the weather can range from a fine warm evening to a total blizzard. I have experienced both but these extremes are unusual. For Brits I'll say it is usually rather like Guy Fawkes Eve, cold, damp but fun.
This year, of course, there are no large gatherings, though individual families and groups of friends still had small fires.
We abandoned all ideas of fire and went to Rose's for dinner. The picture shows the desert, an unadorned key lime pie that was absolutely delicious. I normally find this dish a little sweet for my taste, but this was the perfect mix of sweet and sharp.
We sat around, eating, drinking (not me  - I was driving), and chatting until nearly midnight. As we drove home the sky in the north was still light. At 2 am it was half light, at 4 am the sun had risen. Those white nights will soon be here again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.