Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Birthday Girl

Today was Meg's 30th Birthday,   According to a website, this is the equivalent of over 85 years of age in human terms.  Despite that she is still ridden out every week and can still get up to a gallop across the Chase, when the opportunity presents itself.

We didn't have a birthday cake for her, though we did take up a bag of carrots.  She was also treated to plenty of fuss and love, she deserves it.  I don't ride, she wouldn't want me on her back, but I still love to spend time with her.  And she likes me, or at least the treats that I inevitably carry in my pocket.

The stables have also received visitors in the form of swallows after their migration from the south.  This year is a little different as the roofs have been replaced on the stables, so they will need to build new nests before settling down to incubating eggs.  I'm hopeful of getting better shots of them on the nest this year, as they have included some transparent roof panels to let more light in (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.