Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 39 - The 'Heron' Position

A dryer day, though we did get some drops of rain.  I'd been missing my longer walks so I used two sections of a local canal and a footpath along an old railway line to stretch my legs during the morning.  Plenty of new wildlife including coot, moor hen and duck chicks, though the swans are still on the nest.  I was able to confirm that there were no young tucked underneath for the one pen as she stood to roll the eggs on the nest.  I try to walk by every 2-3 days so I'm hoping I capture the cygnets when they are just born.

While I had plenty of choice of images to select from, I thought I would share this heron, who stayed with me for about half a mile along the canal towpath, flying in a few yards as I got closer each time.  In the end it crossed the canal and watched me pass.  It certainly demonstrated why birds of this family tend to stand on one leg.  With the length of their toes they'd be standing on their own feet if both legs were used.

Day Miles: 9.4 miles Total miles: 554.2 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.