Bluebells

It's been a lovely sunny day and with two walks, morning and afternoon, I achieved over 11,000 steps, 85 active minutes, and 52 floors. Up and down Monks Steps again in the morning (and up them once more at the end of my afternoon walk) when I walked through the nearby Weston Woods that I'd not been to before. The bluebells were just wonderful. It's fascinating woodland with quite a history, from an iron age fort to Celtic pits (for grain storage) and a plaque that recorded Dwight Eisenhower's having camped there shortly before the D-Day landings of WWII (see Extras).

Saw my first Speckled Wood butterfly of the season (also in Extras), celandines, bracken fronds beginning to uncurl and, of course, the bluebells of my main blip. They are English bluebells, but I was rather disappointed to find the invasive Spanish variety further into the woods. Cross-pollination will cause our indiginous bluebells to decline as the Spanish ones are a stronger strain, sad to say.

For Silly Saturday, I've included a shadow selfie of me waving in the sunny woods as an Extra. (And the thumbnail of my main blip also looks a bit like a silly face!) Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting this week's challenge in memory of admirer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.