Marionb

By Marionb

Lookin' Out My Back Door

I tried for exotic..drove to three of my favourite parks/conservation areas in search of interesting wildlife and woodland plants for today's blip. Each location was full of people - walking, jogging, biking, flying kites, picnicking, chatting with friends, playing with kids and dogs, all having a great old time..in a lockdown! Way too many people for my comfort level. I thought of just taking photo of all the cars for my blip to make that statement, but there was nowhere to park to even do that! So, I went home, resigned to the fact that I might be blipless today. But then, standing looking out my back door,  I realized that I have wildlife and plants right here in my own back yard...things are starting to happen out there.. scilla, grape hyacinth, 2 lone daffodils, and many many violets are in bloom; hostas, bleeding hearts and ferns are above ground now and growing taller as I write, and my almond bush has managed to hold onto its blossoms despite snow, high winds and cold. I have lots of " happy creatures dancin' on the lawn" - rabbits, squirrels, birds, a couple of neighbourhood cats and one chipmunk. Nothing exotic, but worthy of their time in the blip sphere. So... today it is some brave almond blossoms for the main. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.