Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Feathered fiend

Out early this morning.  Hazel and I went to the park with a ball as I was planning to practise running shots of her.  Well, that didn't happen.

The park is right by one arm of the river.  In fact it's almost surrounded by waterways, being carved out of a patch of old water meadow.  There is also a fenced stream dividing it right down the middle.  That's where we found Majesty out fishing.  I've no idea if this is male or female, but fish was duly caught.  I also don't know how it was swallowed (see Extra) because this was the point Hazel decided to share it!

No, of course she didn't really, and the heron knew it was safe, but I decided I'd got the heron shots I wanted for today so I grabbed her and we returned home, dumped the big camera and set off in the opposite direction for Barton Farm, where we had a long and lovely walk.

It's an odd place though.  The Wildlife Trust has had it for ?4 years, it's been turned into 'wildflower meadow', yet there's hardly a bloom in sight.  Just a handful of dandelions and a couple of cowslips.  One orangetip butterfly.  And in all that huge space ;(  Perhaps it will be better later in the year and when it's less dry. 

Happy Sunday evening/Monday morning  xx

Just to remind you, WildflowerWeek21_05 finished at midnight last night.  We are now onto week 06

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.