From a nourished swelling

Across town for a session of yoga this morning; on changing buses in the centre I noticed numerous people wearing red and green colours and sporting dragon regalia. It was p**ing with rain, however, so I didn't get a chance of blipping any of them.

We listened to the football on the radio in the afternoon - "Open All Mikes" really is excellent listening, even if the Pars could only manage a draw. It was quite troubling to hear an interview with the wonderful Jim Leishman about the Pars appalling financial state - he sounded close to tears.

Then I got stuck in to a bit of Virgil - it'll be nose down into this until the exam now. I spent some time wondering about Aeneas beginning his tale ab alto toro - "from a nourished swelling/from an enlarged bolster/from a high protuberance"? I turned to the Penguin translation which gives it as "from a raised couch". I've a way to go yet, evidently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.