The Potting Shed

Long ago I hoped to have a proper potting bench, with a tray on top for the compost and a shelf below for the paraphernalia and saw myself happily sowing seeds, pricking out and potting-on - I even procured the top from IKEA bargain corner. That's where the plan stalled.

There's no sign of a bench; the top - metal - has become the Flumlet's magnetic letter board and, after so many disappointments of one sort or another, I've lost interest in gardening.

However, having accepted the offer from a church member of a couple of tomato plants, I was duty bound to pot them up. Unwilling to work on the lawn I performed the task in the utility room, which is probably where they will remain, as the sunroom is too hot.

 Last year I used the 'greenhouse' and the plants grew well but the fruit  did not as the cover (a replacement for the original) is not clear but dense green, preventing the sun's rays from penetrating the foliage.

So it looks as though the tomatoes will join the other plants - poinsettia, amaryllis and Christmas cactus - in taking over what was designed to be a space for cleaning mucky things and boots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.