The second half of life..

By twigs

Is there anybody out there....?

Is there anybody out there...?

Oddly for me I was up early and on the road by 9.00am which made for a very relaxed drive from Kurow (Richie Country) to Timaru.  Met up with Rainie for a coffee and a catch-up - always such a lovely time nattering and sharing stories.

The rest of the day (well, a couple of hours or so) was spent on State Highway 1 gunning it in a northerly direction generally towards home.  Decided to stop this evening at Lake Ellesmere where I was hoping I might catch a few interesting birds tomorrow morning.  This evening however, I checked in with Photopills and found that the moon wouldn't appear until after the milky way had graced the sky with its galactic core close to the horizon.  I had hoped to get a McKenzie Basin sky whilst I was there but Mr Moon was just a bit too persistent, a bit too big and a bit too bright for much of the time.  Tonight however - no Mr Moon!  I like the campervan in this shot - I can imagine the occupants sitting in there, looking up to the skies and singing along with Pink Floyd...."Is there anybody out there...?  Another noticeable difference is the temperature.  Now back down at sea level and on the coast and I've barely needed to have the heater on tonight - a huge change from being just 90kms inland and 470m higher at Twizel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.