Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Lines

Today’s shot is a ‘cheap shot’ as it’s an opportunistic sighting from the car. These wonderful curving lines of silver reaching up the field catch my eye as we drive past, and G, ever helpful, turns around the car and parks. I grab my camera and my coat, do my best to shield the former from the rain, and dash across the road - and yes, I do check first for traffic! 

A few quick shots is all I dare expose my camera to, and it’s back to the car without delay. I’ve only been gone seconds, yet by now I’m drenched, which G cruelly finds hilarious. It’s a ‘cheap shot’, I think - but then I have to laugh as I remove my soaking coat and frantically dry my precious 90D. 

Aesthetically, I love the lines this plastic mulch creates, and particularly the way the day’s wetness makes it shine, but what about its environmental impact? It’s an interesting topic; apparently it improves moisture, protects roots, helps stop erosion, speeds up growth - but if it’s non-biodegradable, can the advantages possibly outweigh the disadvantages? Thankfully, the biodegradable variety is being developed and its impact researched - summarised in the link below. It’s amazing where a cheap shot takes you! 

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S0048969720347574

Thanks to laurie54 for hosting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.