SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

100 Mount Street, North Sydney

You know you're getting old when the pub where you had your first schooner of "Old" and a pub lunch in has been pulled down not once, but twice!

Sydney rarely gets a true fog but we do sometimes get a heavy mist.  It's usually gone well before lunch.  Today we had a fog but, as usual, it was not there for long.  It just happened to be my one day in the office this week too.  I was hoping for one of those dramatic shots of the harbour bridge floating on the mist, but not today.

This is a shot of 100 Mount Street and the far more interesting looking 1 Denison Street - both about 30 something levels above street level.  The sun was just about to come over 100 Mount.  I had to take it through glass of course but I still kind of like it.

100 Mount Street now occupies the site where I had my first pub lunch: Bangers (sausages), mash (potato) and peas for $1 in 1977, washed down with a couple of schooners of "Old" (dark beer) at the Albert Hotel.  Those were the days!  Mildly intoxicated at lunchtime (most lunchtimes) and an ashtray on your desk.  I still can't believe the world was ever like that!

The "Albert" was the closest thing I've ever had to a "local" (even though I never lived anywhere near it).  To cut a long story short, it was pulled down in the mid 1980s and "Albert's Tavern" was built in its place.  Not the same of course, in fact I only went there once or twice.  No beer garden, no pool table, no pinball machine, no juke box - pathetic.

The most sobering thing about looking at this building now (excuse the pun) is that the wine bar has now also been demolished.  Yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.