Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tantalizing Twenty

Adding to my visual yard bird record for 2021 with a beautiful male Black-throated Blue Warbler.  This is a species that I more often see in the fall, so I was very happy to get this male with his vibrant breeding plumage.  Happier still when he engaged in classic warbler behavior by darting in and out of the pine tree, gleaning small insects and larva.  Very easy to see how he gets his name in this shot, as well as showing off the distinctive white wing patch.  I wasn't able to get a shot of the female who was with him, alas.

It was a delightfully busy morning in the yard with a large group of warblers passing through, feeding up in the treetops.  I added 5 species to my yearly yard list, bringing the year total to 41.  And I had a lot of fun sitting outside snapping shots, listening to all the songs being sung.  I really was spoiled for choices to blip today and may regret not blipping a male grosbeak (one of whom is currently perched 3 feet from me on the window feeder or the pair of blue jays engaged in courtship behavior.  Honestly, the pair of blue jays were the first things I saw when I went outside and I was certain I was going to blip them because I don't usually get good shots of this behavior.  But then along came a warbler...

If you want to see 4 other shots from today (including the handsome rose breasted grosbeak male and the love-struck jays) Click HERE and scroll through.

SIL came over at lunch and we had a zoom call with MIL.  She is in good spirits, although very much in need of a haircut.  Hopefully the facility will be able to reopen their salon by the end of this month.  Seems like every time they get close, an employee gets covid and everything resets to red.  She's not the least bit bothered by her hair, but it is looking a bit like sasquatch these days.

Hubs started his new job today, so I'm looking forward to hearing all the details later when he gets home.  I think the whole morning was consumed with all the onboarding stuff so not sure he'll have a feel yet for the actual work.  

No pain today, and I feel mentally good.  I'm meeting up with my birder friends tomorrow morning for a walk along a trail that is usually very good for warblers this time of year.  Looking forward to it.  And this afternoon may involve a short nap for me.  

Stay safe.  Be kind.  If you can find dark chocolate with citrus, I recommend it.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.