Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chipatherapy

A beautiful day with temps nudging the high 70's, low humidity, a few fluffy clouds...and lots of birds and chipmunks.  This is Xena, the garden chipmunk who has just this week emerged from her den, much to Stumpy's consternation.  When chipmunks go into their grooming routine, you can get some wonderfully hilarious shots.  So, enjoy.

Had a nice long chat with my parents this morning.  They are going to hold off coming our for awhile.  In part to give me some more healing time and in part because the covid situation is still concerning especially knowing that no vaccine is 100% effective.  So we will wait a little longer to give each other hugs.  They gave me some good words of wisdom this morning - both of them have battled cancer and they know all to well the emotional rollercoaster.  And they've proved, once again, that one is never too old to be comforted by their parents.  Love you, Mom and Dad.

Right after I posted yesterday about the female grosbeak being on my window feeder, I looked out and saw the male!  I was hoping to grab a shot of him today, but he was being illusive.  Maybe tomorrow.

In other birds news, I spotted a female hummer today and she was being actively wooed by the male who was doing his high-speed dance in front of her.  Be still my heart!  And there was a beautiful white-crowned sparrow in the garden this morning - passing through and looking just stunning.  Alas, to quick for me to get a shot.  

No need for any sort of pain meds today - yay!  So I am going to treat myself to a glass of wine with dinner.  I think my taste buds have recovered from anesthesia by now, so hopefully the wine won't taste like dreck.

Still feeling a little emotional today - tears closer to the surface than usual.  It's okay though.  I'm giving myself permission to have whatever feelings I have.

As always, you are a wonderful, loving, kind group of people so I'll just say to you - keep yourselves safe and indulge in something delicious (like dark chocolate).

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.