Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Sun, sea and sand

Another day, another beach. And another Lifeguard hut! I stopped at Kite Beach on my way to collect G. It all looked idyllic for the fifteen minutes I was here, then it became overcast. We had beautiful clouds in the sky at sunset, but I was busy driving so couldn't get a picture.

Back to the day... Since the age of 15, I have had my hair cut at the same salon by two hairdressers. The salon has moved location three times, so I just followed wherever they went. I can't remember now when Linda stopped cutting my hair (she returned to the Philippines) and when Elvie took over but it's been so long, even SweetArt had the same stylist, and she left Dubai over fifteen years ago, so there you go.

When I last saw Elvie (21st March), she announced that she is leaving  Dubai for good. I, er, was obviously very sorry to hear that, but the first question that popped into my mind was, "Who's going to cut my hair?" The time has now come so I went to get my "Elvie" haircut for the last time. It didn't need doing yet so I just got a trim. In two months, I will have to take my chance with a new person. Argh.

We were going to finally introduce Diane to our favourite restaurant but I read a review that their Iftar buffet this year is not going well, so we went to the Japanese restaurant that G reviewed for her 4-get-me-not group instead. The evening was good especially as the temperature has dropped slightly. We should have started at the sky bar. We then tried to have our dessert at Shakespeare at the Village Mall only to find they have closed their doors there and the mall is seriously lacking in outlets and life. It's sad! A one dirham ice cream cone from McDonald's drive-through kept us happy. It's been a good, if painful day. I think I have carpal tunnel syndrome. :(((

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.