Dilemma

Yeah! Monday!

(Just kidding.)

I was working from home today. It was OK. I had a long chat on the phone with the Hippie, who was in the Office. I suppose it was one of the highlights of a dull day.

So was dinner - by chance it was pasta bake on the menu, and that was perfect for a cold, wet evening. I did take a photo, but it is not the most photogenic of dishes for Blip purposes. 

Instead, you get the dilemma which faces me from time to time, when I remember about the issue. How do I dispose of a bundle of ancient floppy discs which contain confidential and sensitive information. 

The information may not be sensitive 25 years down the line, but it will always be confidential. If I just bin them, the chances of anyone accessing them must be close to zero, but not zero. I could burn them, but that is not very good for the environment. 

I could pay someone to delete the contents and then scrub them clean, but that seems excessive even if I can find someone who can be trusted. 

In fact the same issue applies to a 25 year old laptop which is in the garage. At least with it I could remove the hard drive, destroy it and then send the rest of the machine for recycling. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.