Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Front door

This is the door lock assembly at Brett's new old home for the front door.   As you can see there is not a knob at all, just that little v shaped flip lever.  We have to unlock the top deadbolt and flip that little lever to open the door. I have another key he gave me which is really strange looking (but not a skeleton key) that I think is for the second keyhole there to double lock the door.   I will have to try it next time. 

  I LOVE this kind of stuff!!  

Most of the hardware on all the doors are the old kind.  Metal knobs with metal faceplates behind them.   I am sure I will be taking more photos as I visit this house to help him get it set up for living.   We moved more boxes today but the big furniture move will be Saturday. 

This house is in a really nicer and quieter location than the current house.   Unfortunately, we found out the neighbor to the right has two cats that stay outside...and he has two dogs!    We will be putting some extra fencing up on that side since Hank is a jumper and he might take a wild notion to pole vault the fence to get a cat.     

And today's chuckle...Brett was outside at the fence talking with this lady as the dogs were barking..I walked out to stop the barkers and introduced myself.    She said welcome to the neighborhood and I said I was not moving there, just Brett.   She says "I thought you were his wife!"    I told her I was the mom...we just laughed and laughed!!

Tomorrow I have two dental appointments.  Keep your fingers crossed that everything will work as it should.   

PS!!   It RAINED!   We are so happy to see it!   But not the tornado warnings and wind!  Nothing here but some storms close by.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.