Mono Monday : : Cheap Shot

I loved this challenge and will no doubt be thinking of possible 'cheap shots' for weeks now, but this one was inspired that I have been spending a lot of time trying to take pictures of real birds, since I risk my life hanging the filled bird feeders...I'm a good four inches shorter than John, and it's a stretch. Mosts of the results have not been memorable,  so taking a picture of these little rusty metal birds with their feet nailed to a branch definitely felt like a cheap shpt. 

Hats off to Blipper dbifulco for her fabulous bird photos. She obviously doesn't have to rely on birds with their feet nailed to a branch for her shots!

I'm finally starting to feel better from whatever low grade exhaustion and joint pain that has been afflicting me since my first Covid shot at the beginning of March. I'm not necessarily connecting the two but I'm not totally discounting the idea either. It will be interesting to see what findings emerge about side effects as more people get vaccinated and more time elapses.

 I went to the Pilates studio for the first time...they moved to a different space during the shutdown. They definitely have more room to spread out, but not really anyplace to have a mat class. They will continue to offer mat classes on Zoom and I will probably continue taking them for now. The mat classes are at 8am so there is a certain appeal to falling out of bed and going to the next room to take a class, but I definitely miss the connections and the camaraderie. It was strange to see everybody in masks since Zoom classes were about the only place where we actually saw everybody without masks.

The newspaper headlines this morning were that 'scientists and health officials' have concluded that we probably will not be able to reach herd immunity to Covid in this country. The variants are spreading faster than we can get people vaccinated. In the same breath they are adding that it is still essential for people to get their vaccinations and not see this pronouncement as a reason not to bother. The current feeling seems to be that it will probably be around in some form for a long time and the best hope is to keep it contained and in milder forms through vaccination.  

If this has been a reaction to the vaccine,  while I have absolutely no regrets about getting it, I hope the latest news mean that it will be an annual shot like the flu shot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.