Back at the Nest

Lots of squabbling around the nest today. There was no mistaking the distress calls from over the road. The Crows know the Kestrels are back and have been hanging around for an opportunity to get in for an egg breakfast. Not just the crows but a third kestrel was touring around and being chased off, probably one of last years young. I got one shot of the female, talons in the air towards what is probably one of her offspring. Needless to say I was too far away and the shot was far too blurred.
I had mentioned the birds were back earlier in the day but wasn't expecting to see all the action that unfurled over a good half hour. It's a shame the tree is so exposed and I have no means of getting closer without spooking them. They are happy if I go out with the car engine running but if I stop they're off like lightning and so close to the main road, there is no place for a hide. It's possible there are already eggs so I don't want to risk disturbing them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.