Holmbury Hill on Horseback

The sun brought the world out in droves. Sheltered from the wind it was very warm and who could blame every man from wanting to be out and about. Surrey's reputation for being the cycling centre of the universe is attracting, what is becoming an uncomfortable amount of attention.

I went up to join my friends who were up on Holmbury Hill with the horses. I had a good walk but when I met them up at the top, I just knew it was going to be impossible to walk with them. There were, not tens but, hundreds of bikes. The horses were getting nervous of the cyclists that sped around them and the dogs like walking close to them. They headed off in one direction and I tried to find a route with minimal traffic.

I am in no way against bikes. It's a fantastic form of transport and a healthy pastime. What I and many others are beginning to loathe are the growing numbers of riders that show absolutely no sense of respect or safety when they get on one. I know there is many a car driver that could do with a lesson in cyclists and safety but...

I can understand an organised cycling event but, why do cyclists group together and ride two or three abreast, causing massive queues because nobody can overtake. Whizzing down a hill is fun but why at breakneck speed? Every bend on a road around here has become a hazard. Some cyclists seem to forget that cars are coming uphill and they can't see them coming round a bend, often on the wrong side of the road.

There is hardly an inch of the countryside that isn't taking a pounding and the wild flowers, fauna and soil are all suffering. I find it terribly unfair that families on a stroll should be shouted at to get out of the way on a footpath. Bicycles shouldn't be ridden on a footpath... the law is clear, they should keep to the bridleways. Every log has been turned into a jump and every path has been embellished to make off road trails.

Whilst I'm on my high horse, when did the law change and make it acceptable for cyclists to ride around in the dark without lights, to disregard traffic lights and cut across roads without looking.

Most pay road tax so are contributing in some way but cyclists aren't obliged to pay insurance yet, when there is an accident it is not always the cars fault.

:) Grumble over... it has been a beautiful day.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.