Wind disaster.....

What a night of wind and rain! Got very scary at times as it was non stop for hours and  I had hoped we'd escaped any damage..... getting up this morning and looking out of the window made me realise disaster had struck....

despite having bricks in the base, and the whole unit being tied to the stairs banister of the balcony, my plastic greenhouse decided it didn't like being where it was, and appeared to have flown halfway down the garden landing upside down on the path..... mud and seedlings everywhere! So I started the day in tears sitting on the garden step picking through the mud to see what seedlings could be rescued!!  Maybe this is the sign I needed to get a real greenhouse in the garden to replace the summerhouse which is on its' way out!!

Thankfully I managed to rescue some sweet peas and cosmos, but very little else, but I am feeling rather happy I couldn't fit all the seedlings in the greenhouse to begin with, so the ones that have taken over the lounge floor are nice and safe!  Looks like I need to go seed shopping again and start over with the others!  Amazingly, the peonies withstood the wind and the rain - and I was more worried about them last night than anything else!

Weather is still windy today, but calming, and there's been a few showers around soon which thankfully we've not been caught in.  And today is the day I start kitty sitting for our old neighbours so hopefully they'll behave themselves when I go and visit them later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.