WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Viral

I'm a bit behind the times, but for lunch I decided to make the pasta and feta dish that went viral via TikTok some time ago (apparently originating in Finland) and is now everywhere. It was delicious, if hardly Slimming World friendly, and I'll certainly be making it again. Very easy. I used (more or less) this recipe, with the addition of fresh spinach leaves to make it look superficially healthier. I forgot the lemon juice and zest, but I think I'll add a bit of preserved lemon next time.

In the morning we'd been to the new weekly market in St Laurent. It is installed in a smart new open-sided hall on the site of what was a derelict distillery a couple of years ago. Now it looks like an architect's drawing (extra 1). Inside it's quite convivial though (extra 2). They've made the choice to only host local producers, and there seemed to be plenty of takers for this idea. We'll see how it pans out with time. The rest of the site is intended to host a restaurant and shops, but lockdown has put a bit of a spanner in the works. There's also an open-air theatre on the slope leading down to the river.

I baked a sourdough loaf too, but I'm guessing you've seen enough of those! Languishing in the fridge for 20 hours, till I got back from the market, it was one of the best yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.