CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Which way are you going? Straight on?

I came upon these two traps both with pairs of horses being drivcen along country lanes. The deriver of the second trap isn't being rude. He first gestured with a finger pointing to the right, and I knew w=he was asking if I wanted tom turn right at the junction on the apex of the bend they were approaching. As it happened I wanted to go in their direction, hence the next finger pointing straight on!

when we got to the apex of the bend there was morew room to pass but bu that time another car was coming in the opposite direction so I became trapped between the two traps. All worked out well soon after. I love these elements of old country life that still occur if you are lucky. I'd have happily followed at the horses pace.

I was reminded of long ago being driven to the pub in the Welsh borders by Judy M. in her trap pulled by a Welsh cob. It was about five miles of narrow lanes and I loved the whole experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.