Ebley Mill as the rain began to fall again

I wanted to drop my postal vote forms at the Stroud District Council's offices to make sure that my vote counted. I'll be unable to vote in person as I'm working as a Poll Clerk for Gloucester City Council.

The council moved out of Stroud town centre in the early 1990s after purchasing and renovating this wonderful old mill building. The river powered the mill early in its life but later steam power took over, hence the chimney. The coal was brought by barge along the canal which you can just see on the right of the picture. Until five years ago this whole section of the Stroudwater Navigation had been filled in after it was abandoned in the 1950s. Now we are only two years away from its reopening all the way to the junction with the Gloucester to Sharpness canal five miles away at Saul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.