Wild flowers on Minchinhampton Common

I took the opportunity of visiting Minchinhampton Common on my way to shops in Nailsworth and then Stroud. I'd heard that the wild purple orchids were flowering on the common and knowing that the herds of Commoners' cows would be released there next week, I hoped to see them before they became damaged by trampling or being eaten.

I parked near the modern manmade reservoir lying between the settlements at Culver Hill, Amberley and Minchinhampton. Within a few hundred yards I saw this plant which I think is an 'Early Purple Orchid', although I may well be mistaken. There were many cowslips in full bloom all around the common scattered in the rough grassland which is home to the skylarks and their nests. I lay down on the very dry ground and tried to wait for a moment when the wind died down enough for the plants to be still.

I wandered on across the traditional limestone grassland, carefully nurtured by the National Trust, tantalised by the sound of skylarks singing, but unusually not seeing many of them in flight. I wondered whether they sing to each other whilst nesting.

I've added a couple of 'Extras' of another type of orchid and a wonderful large clump of cowslips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.