The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lilac in Stroud cemetery

"Nothing is more wistful than the scent of lilac, nor more robust than its woody stalk, for we must remember that it is a tree as well as a flower, we must try not to forget this." ~ Stevie Smith

After a morning at nursery, I sprinted home for my Zoom class about Hamlet. The weather had been alternating between cloudy skies, sunshine and spring showers all day. Nonetheless, I decided to nip out after the class finished, for a quick walk in the cemetery/nature reserve.
I did not encounter many people, not even dog walkers, which is unusual. One sudden downpour drenched me, but I had the right jacket on, and the sun came out straight afterwards.

I was delighted to find this lilac in bloom, as well as the bluebells and cowslips, and the copper beech leaves shining in the afternoon light. Thank goodness for the beautiful place we live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.