A bit of everything

A good day today. Usual walk down town before lunch, in the sunshine this time. We stopped on the bridge to look up the Black Lynn Burn and it seemed a good place to take a picture. Clockwise from the cherry tree in flower is McCaig's Tower, Oban's two big monkey puzzle trees, the red finial on the roof of the Rockfield Centre (formerly the town primary school), and the Lorne Bar.

After returning home I walked back down to the end of our road where a neighbour had given me permission to try to separate some suckers from the base of a New Zealand cabbage palm, Cordyline australis. As if I need more! On the way down I was side-tracked by meeting a blind neighbour with her dog - she's a physiotherapist. I'm very impressed - she always knows who I am when I speak to her. I also stopped to chat with another neighbour who has a lovely garden. There's always something in flower and visitors walking up to the Tower often take photographs, as I once did long before I came to live here. She has steps climbing the hill behind her house so I asked if I could pop up to have a look. The steps wind up between shrubs - being quite elderly she hasn't been up there for some time. The view of McCaig's from 'our' side is my extra today.

This afternoon I worked in the garden. I found a space on the bank for my three new cabbage tree shoots and planted some narcissus and muscari bulbs down at the bottom beside the road. 

Quote of the Day:

Mehmet Murat ildan – “It is spring time now! While the world looks for a new war to fight, you look for a cherry blossom to watch! Let the stupid seek the violence; you seek the elegance!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.