Thankyou Angela, Wellspoken!

I just heard back the Dutch Liberation-Speech held by Chancellor Merkel from Berlin. I am moved and I feel proud. Feelings of pride towards our Angela Merkel, this great humble hearted, capable and trustworthy Head of German Federal Government for so many years already.
And a great European leader. We have always felt secure and grateful as European citizen to live  in this country, still being a Dutch national. We were born during the German occupation and lived the postwar era, wherein Germany would remain  a hateful enemy  for a very long time. Even travelling through that divided country in ruins remained not done  throughout the 60-ies.
Not for everyone coming from the Lowlands, as clearly my father in law De Rooy would not hesitate to visit and drive through this country in reconstruction. With his family. Willemien had  seen  the west and south. She knew the Romantic Road, long before my parents would have the courage to drive by car through France. Germany? No way.
I know my Grandmother would feel the same way as I do today. It was her deep Faith and commitment for Peace, Love and Justice that made her stimulate a reconciliatory attitude in her often lonesome and unhappy grandson. This was the First time that the Chancellor participated in Our National Liberation Celebration. Thankyou Angela, wellspoken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.