The art of being dangerous

Yesterday, we got a Parcelforce ‘sorry you weren’t there’ (Mr A was) card, so I walked up to Ferry Road to collect my parcel today. It was, as I expected, a parcel of books from Leuven University Press, who have done an amazing job with what we thought would be the second of the Dangerous Women books (but has proven to be the first - the second is coming in March next year).

My involvement with the Dangerous Women Project is one of the things I’m proudest of during my professional life, and I find myself vaguely astounded to be one of the editors of a book like this. It’s beautifully produced, worthy of a coffee table, and definitely suitable as a gift for some you love or even for yourself. I’ve charted bits of the DWP on blip before - the beginning and the end. Oh and at least some bits in the middle. It was all consuming at the time, although I was not the main mover. It’s taken some time to move this digital project back into the arena of ‘the book’ (oh, how we love to handle a book), but it is definitely worth it. If you want to see some more images, have a look at the Dangerous Women account on twitter. The book is as gorgeous inside as on the cover.

So apart from receiving my books, I also delivered a lecture “in” Antwerp today - that is, I spoke to my screen for half an hour or so. I think we are well beyond peak webinar. This one felt a bit low energy both on my part and on the part of the audience. We are all dreaming of the excitement of in person events, and looking at a few of those blips for the DWP, I can definitely see their attraction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.