Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yowzer!

My day got off to a fast start this morning with a half dozen gorgeous male Baltimore Orioles in the yard.  They were mostly eating the oranges I'd put out with a few bits of suet now and again.  I spent an hour or so in the hide snapping shots, then inside for some tea.  At which point I glanced out the window...and saw a Pileated Woodpecker on my suet feeder!  Now, I should say at this point that I NEVER get these huge woodpeckers at my feeders - they are frequently seen and heard in our woods but never, ever at our feeders.  

Quick as a flash, I was back in the hide, fingers crossed.  And while I was peeking out the right side of the hide, I heard a the sound of wings...very big wings.  A glance to the left confirmed that she'd come back for more suet.  I carefully shifted positions and snapped a series of shots.  Usually I don't like to post images with birds on feeders, but I am making an exception in this case.  If I am lucky enough to get a feederless shot later, I'll use it for my visual record, but for now I am super happy with this.  For those unfamiliar, this is N. America's largest woodpecker, a little larger than a common Crow.  And she's my 21st species to be blipped this year for my visual yard bird record.

I hope that the orioles stay around a few days so I can post one tomorrow.  But in the meantime, have a look in Extra for a beautiful adult male posing with an orange - and yes, those are the actual colors.  

I used the wrong link yesterday for the rare Prothonotary Warbler, so if you want to see it, Click HERE.  It's worth a look.

I downloaded the updated pathology report for my appointment tomorrow with the breast surgeon.  I've highlighted some things on it that I want to ask about, including the size which seems quite a bit larger than we initially thought.  I'm getting quite an education about breast cancer.

Stay safe, be kind and today I'm recommending pure, unadulterated dark chocolate.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.