Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Caught by Early Light

I thought the beginning of the day was likely to be the best of the weather so I got myself out for a walk before breakfast.  I had wanted to check the local red deer herd as I wondered whether any of the hinds had given birth.  I came across a small group pretty quickly, but they were in the open and approaching them was difficult.

I decided to loop around as I suspected that any new born deer would be in denser areas of the local wood, away from the inevitable dog walkers that frequent the area.  I came across a larger group of about 20 hinds and younger deer. and we played a little game of watching you, watching me from across one of the small brooks that criss cross the area.  What I really appreciated was that despite them being in a wooded area, the sun was still penetrating and lighting up the deer at certain points.  This was one such occasion.  As far as I could tell we don't have any calves as yet.  The rut finished quite early last autumn and with an 8-9 month gestation period it shouldn't be long before we see a few.  Now I have a better Idea where they are hanging out, I'll keep popping back.

We headed off to Warwick later in the day, for L to have some tooth work, before I enjoyed my first game of golf this year.  Luckily the heavy showers stayed away for the duration of the game.  It was one of those games where I was pleased with my hitting, but it didn't translate into a good score.  Still it was a pleasure to be out in company.  Another step back to normality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.