Thrill of The Chase

I’m going to visit my new niece. On the way to the train station Saji the taxi driver from Kerala in India walked me through a rapid virtual tour of that state’s highlights. He touched on various places I visited in 2011, and it was a nice few minutes of travel escapism.

On the train journey to Staffordshire I came to the conclusion that a significant number of Brits are obnoxious. Is this trait going to come out strongly now that restrictions are easing and people ‘burst’ back into normal life? Or is it just that it’s more obvious now as we’ve been operating in insular bubbles?

I persuaded my parents to watch The Chase all evening and forced my dad to download The Chase app so we could compete against each other. Give me access to a TV and my obsession with The Chase bursts back to the surface. There are more hedonistic obsessions, so I’ll count myself lucky.

My parents’ garden is a relaxing spot. My dad has been tending it at the same time as cultivating his new bearded look, which is a cross (not politically) between Jeremy Corbyn and Sean Connery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.