Alta

After 20ish hours of travel, arriving early evening last night, thus being up for around 36 hours (as I only slept for an hour or so on the plane, economy...) I slept in. Yep, until 11am. I didn't mean to, woke up at 7,.0 and had every intention of going skiing, but I went back to sleep ...

Anyway, up, showered, and in the car off to Alta. Beautiful day. For various reasons it took a bit longer to get there than expected, but 1 hour after departing the hotel, I was on the slopes at 1pm. Despite being a Saturday, hardly any crowds. Which was interesting, and the night before I'd met a very keen skier and he said "best day to ski is Sunday, due to the "culture" here". Classis. As you probably know, Utah is the Mormon capital of the world and Sunday is THE day. Everything closes down. Except the skis areas.

So skiing I went, the weather was awesome, it wasn't crowded, and despite not snowing for a week the skiing was pretty good. Even so late in the day I got a park, interesting because technically I wasn't probably supposed to drive my car up the canyon. There are severe winter restrictions as a. it snow a lot in the Cottonwood Canyon and b. the law seems to state that you need either a 4WD or a 2WD with chains, but the rental companies won't rent you chains. But there is a reasonably good public transport system (more on that tomorrow).

Anyway, a great days skiing in a low ley, laid back resort. People were friendly, facilities we're very good by NZ standards and so were the lifts, many relatively newly upgraded. So, an awesome day.

Sadly, the new GoPro 3 Black has the "GoPro" affliction, dispute the upgrade. I'll try re-upgrading it tonight, and trying it again tomorrow. Otherwise it goes back.

Back to the hotel, then out to pick up some essentials and target and Walmart, capped off with room service dinner. Buggered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.