SnowBird

After skiing Alta yesterday it was time to explore. The good news was that the weather was bad, and there had been some snow. Not a lot, but 3" or so was definitely going to soften things.

So being slightly nervous about the car rental thing and not supposed to drive up Cottonwood Canyon supposedly, I parked at the canyon entrance and caught the bus at 9.30, luckily the last one as it turned out until 12.30! There was I thinking they would just run all day, nooooo. $4.25 (no change provided) and a few minutes later, about 15, I was at the bottom of the tram. Pretty efficient, despite the fact I had to stand all the way as no seats.

And then into the skiing. Well, taking the tram to the top really signifies I am a tiger for punishment. Skied Mineral Basin for 2 runs, in low vis conditions, and Little Cloud on the premise the snow would be better at the top. Sort of, but dumb, with virtually no trees the vis was terrible.

So I moved further down the mountain and discovered gad 2, a slow old double chair, but servicing I discovered oh so good terrain. I was literally caught by the "tiger tail" a steep semi-gladed tree run. Soft snow, steep, and tight'ish tree turns. Screw up, and it won't be pretty! But oh how good, in my absolute "steep tree, soft snow heaven". I think this is why I live.

Anyway, after skiing a few runs there I decided I'd better look around the mountain, plus I was well and truly tired, So I cruised over try the Peruvian Express, via a few soft mogul runs. Oh how good!

But by 3.30 I realised I was well and truly buggered and it was time to head down.

The GoPro 3 was defunct, so I stopped in at BestBuy to refund it, they were very good about it. And then off to check in to the new hotel. My work duties technically start tomorrow ...

Was supposed to go out to dinner with the conference PR team for APAC (Asia Pacific), but a few work issues and begin completely exhausted meant I was in bed early ... sure there is lots of opportunity to catch up.

It's not obvious, but these are the tram lines into the gloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.