Mineral Basin

Technically I was getting up early this morning, powder day. I sort of did, but despite having a which breakfast at the hotel it was still a little before 9am before I was out the door! The good news is that traffic was light (Sunday) and I was at the park and ride within 20 minutes, and then 15 mins later (9.45) later was at the Tram. Awesome. However, due to 8" of snow in 24 hours they were bombing the cr*p out of the mountain for avalanches, so many areas were closed.

Which for me was fine, I got to try a few more lifts and explore more areas of the mountain, which was great.

My mission today was to drop as much fresh powder as possible, only problem, half of SLC was here to do the same. But I did pretty well, I arrived at the top of Mineral Basin soon after the rope dropped, and got some awesome powder, second run was also good, and then it was over. Totally tracked.

Then another couple of cruisers and I found myself at the rope of Provo Road, waiting for ski patrol to drop the rope. It was (sort of) funny listening to apparent with kids the age of ours, advising them that it would be chaos as the rope dropped (there are no friends on a powder day and to be careful. I artfully avoided them and scored fresh tracks ;-) But then I crashed in a big pow turn and lost my ski, after a few minutes searching the area I was eventually alerted to the fact it had run down the hill. Bugger, down the hill I trod.

And then I found myself back at Gad2, my fave from yesterday. A quick run back thru tigers tail and then I decided I had to do something differ, out to Thunder Bowl, and oh my, how fantastic. But I probably need to describe why. My perfect world is steep powder. My second perfect world is steep soft snow thru trees, which is what Thunder Bowl is. It's probably hard to describe just how good and what the emotion is. Very extreme of everything, emphasised by the fact that one wrong turn could be quite bad, so there's a strong incentive to ski well, which on this occasion I did, twice. Exhillerating.

And then I was so buggered it was back to the Peruvian Express to see what it looked like in good vis and have a great last cruiser down Snowbird, Except I veered off into the moguls for some fun. God, I so love Snowbird, it's an awesome awesome mountain.

And then it was time to catch the bus home, via Best Buy to return the now defunct GoPro3. And bed, after another great room service hamburger which I tidied up some work issues.

Wow, super tired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.