Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Diversity

It is often said that you will never see a poor farmer. Not so in many cases, they have to work damn hard to achieve what they do. Pressingoll near St Agnes is a case in point. Diversity is the word. 

Many of the cattle have been sold on as has their wonderful Limousin bull, Isambard. He was magnificent. There are arrays of solar panels, a large and popular camp site and now, following Covid lockdowns, a field for dog exercise. 

However you cannot stand still and rest on your laurels. Over the past two months 600,000 trees have been planted, a few are shown here. This means that unproductive arable and beef/pork farming is being changed in some fields permanently, in the rest the original Cornish Hedges are being embellished, protected and left to wildlife; while the farm animals continue to mow grass, fertilise grass and generally look like cows when humans are around. (Cows like to party too, so it’s not uncommon to hear rave music from their byres)

I was taken to the sick-bay for a tetanus shot today, due to being savaged by a mouse ten days ago. As we pulled up I saw a lady in the next car, her head was on her knees. I knocked on her window and her head turned towards me. 
“Are you OK?” She nodded.
“Are you sure, I thought you had collapsed and died.”
She wound down her window, “I’m just wiping the floor mats while my husband is with the Doctor.”

The nurse jabbed me and told me the date for my next Tetanus jab was in 10 years. I cheered and told her that my “Best Before Date” had been extended. Giggles for the girls. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.