Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Hills are My Refuge

Another cloudless day dawned. I took an early trek up the Wither Hills, starting off before dawn, in the dark. My usual route is up the Quail Stream Stream Track then up the zigzag to the ridge and the twin water tanks. From there it is downhill all the way, past the "Lookout" shelter and down to the car park via a selections of tracks.
The ground in some areas looks as if it has been mown. There is no growth for stock at all.
I saw lots of walkers and runners this morning. We greet each other, automatically, saying "Another beautiful day". That, on reflection, seems rather trite when the greater part of the North Island is in drought mode. The worst conditions since the Second World War, I heard today.
We remain cheerful and hopeful for rain.
This young woman in blue is typical of the many walkers. We stopped for a chat. " These hills are my refuge" she said. "I love it up here, I can't get enough of it. This is my "thinking time'. This park is wonderful. We are so lucky."
She is echoing the sentiments of many of us. These hills are our refuge....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.