WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

I've had a great Saturday. Saturdays are my favourite day of the week and it's extra satisfying when it's a great day. I try, very hard sometimes, to find the silver lining, to be grateful for the people and work in my life, but sometimes I don't have to try. Reasons to be grateful are all around.

My day wasn't particularly exciting - I didn't get to meet rock stars. I got, instead, a wonderfully lazy morning being a Dudeist hanging out in my bath robe and abiding with the horrible weather. When I did get outside I took a couple of pretty decent shots of the waves rolling into the once serene beach. I didn't even have to put those photos in black and white to get that effect. One of those almost became today's blip but I've had a few beach shots lately.

After doing lots of errands I settled down to watch the rugby. I'm a hockey fan first (yes, ice hockey for those of you who don't speak Canadian) and football fan second. I wouldn't call myself a rugby fan but the 6 Nations tournament stirs up the passions of people around me and it becomes infectious. I'm a massage therapist so I spent a lot of the match studying the players form and there is such a wide variety of body shapes in rugby. There are some crazily built guys out there putting themselves in some danger. I also find the role of the referee to be curious and delightful. Fans can hear what the ref is saying - how weird is that? - and when he asks the teams for a 'change of behaviour' (fabulous phrase) the team captains agree. There's no hysterics and protestations. They just get on with it. What a difference from football.

The thing I like best about the 6 Nations are the fans. The Scottish fans get all gussied up in their kilts and it can be a fine sight to see. Today the Welsh fans had reason to celebrate but weren't obnoxious in the slightest. I had thought about going into town just to take photos of the fans but my laziness dictated otherwise. We were on our way to a movie when I spotted this fellow and plucked up the courage to ask for his photo. He just opened his wings widely and posed like a proud rooster. Such an easy subject.

He then did a curious thing. He went into a Nando's restaurant. For those if you unfamiliar with that chain, they serve chicken. Being a vegetarian, I've never felt the need to go in. This fellow, however, strode manfully inside the eatery. Was it suicide? Was it cannibalism? We'll never know but he made a lot of people smile beforehand and that's commendable in my book.

Another friend said she saw someone dressed as a leek.

We went to see Robot and Frank, a quiet little movie but most pleasing. It had a few twists I didn't expect.

I wonder what Sunday will hold?

I hope you're having the weekend you need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.