WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

Free Tibet!

Sometimes I take being Canadian for granted. I live far away from my home and native land but I can return at any time.

My father wasn't so lucky. He couldn't return to his home, not without risk, and he spent the rest of his life in a sort of exile in the true north, strong and free. He was proud to have become a Canadian citizen but I think he must have dreamed of taking his family home.

Today is Tibetan Uprising Day, a day to mark the Chinese Government crackdown on Tibet that led the Dalai Lama and countless thousands of people to flee the violence and persecution. Dr T and I went to the rally and I marched along with the group to the Chinese Consulate. The numbers of fellow protesters on this bitter day was impressive. We left posters marking the people - over 100, many of them very young - who have self-immolated in the last couple of years to protest the Chinese Government rule over Tibet. We had a peaceful protest to mark the peaceful resistance of the Tibetan people.

This is a photo of a wonderful woman I know who is Tibetan and who works tirelessly for the people of Tibet in exile. The little girl is her adorable daughter.

I pray that one day soon they will both be able to go to Tibet freely, to be able to return home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.