curns' corner

By curns

Closed

We took a walk to Wimbledon Common. We sat on a bench, with a drink from one of the local takeaway coffee shops, watching people enjoy the afternoon sun.  I ended up watching the planes high up above the common and, I assume, on approach to Heathrow.  I have previously remarked to friends that I have not seen many planes for a while.  Airports and planes were once such a big part of my (old) working life.  Today, there was a reasonable procession of aircraft heading West - although I think very much more spaced out than would have been the case if travel restrictions were not in place. It’s a strange social distancing of the planes themselves.

On the way to The Village I noticed this postbox on Wimbledon Hill which looks like it needs some care but it’s also closed. I couldn’t see a sign or any information but it seems that this postbox is now out of use. I thought the sealed up slot made it look a little forlorn, if an object like this can look sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.