Saxifraga callosa

A Silver Saxifrage, the inflorescence extending about ten inches above the silvery, lime encrusted rosettes.   This form goes by the name Jan Cortenraad.   It's rather potbound at the moment and is one of the plants earmarked for planting in the next available trough ..... watch this space.

I decided to take advantage of a fine day and get started on clearing the space for a greenhouse.   It will need a concrete base of sufficient thickness to support not only the greenhouse but the plunge and planting benches I plant to install which will be filled with sand/compost.    The job has been nagging me to get on with it for a while but in truth I'm a little daunted by the amount of hard labour involved ... and I struggle to free up enough time to make proper inroads.   I've spoken to a self employed neighbour who will help with the concrete so there will be some help when I need it.   Hoping to get the greenhouse up and running by the end of the summer.

In the end it was early afternoon before I got started.  A lie in after a fragmented night's sleep while on dog-sitting duty.   Meg is a little brighter today but was restless during the night.   Recovery will take at least a couple of weeks.   The outline of the greenhouse base is visible now and the site clear of weeds and what was probably once  a decorative heap of pebbles.   Rain all day tomorrow - time to tidy the house which is much needed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.