JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 127: the bluebell wood

Our stressful day yesterday was followed by a disturbed night, so we started late this morning, and the rest of the day was largely swallowed up by laundry and helping/signing for J in an online meeting and a chat with her PA. The sun was sinking towards the hilltop as I set off for a short walk up the lane, and many of the wild flowers in the verge and meadows were already in deep shadow, though I did photograph some forget-me-nots, stitchwort and dandelion clocks. I had not walked up there for weeks, although it's only minutes away, so I wasn't expecting to find the gate into the bluebell wood open; it was a delight to discover that the friends who own it have opened it for visitors during the bluebell season. It is a wonderful bluebell wood, with beeches, hazels and birches, wood anemones, mossy stumps, winding paths, little glades, and huge expanses of wonderful bluebells. As I approached the top of the hill, I found low sun slanting through the trees and just enough light for a few reasonable photos, though I hope to return earlier in the day to capture it in better light before the bluebells fade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.