Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

The Cut

As I had to get up early this morning to take my daughter to work, I decided to drive up to Loch Thom to take some photographs. I must be mad, as the weather was not good, we had a bitterly cold wind from the North and it was even trying to snow. Luckily the sun came out for a short time, as I had lost all feelings in my hands.

The Greenock Cut is an aquaduct and is designated an ancient monument and a central ingredient of Clyde Muirshiel Park. The Cut was built under the supervision of civil engineer Robert Thom in the 1820s to supply water from Loch Thom to Greenock. In its day it was considered a visionary wonder working scheme.

The Cut has now been restored and had its footpaths upgraded with Heritage Lottery Funding.  Now a fabulous walk of 6.5 miles, which takes you high above Greenock and the river Clyde and then over wilder moorland, before returning to the start. This is a view from a section of the Cut walk, which passes by 23 beautiful stone bridges and two bothies that provided basic accommodation for the workers when the Greenock Cut was built in the 19th century.

Back home now and defrosted after a warm cup of coffee and a tasty BLT. Heaven. Glad I am inside now as it has started snowing again.

Hope you are all having a good Mothering Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.