I have to thank all of you who sent stars and hearts to me yesterday, I didn't comment at all as we had a quiet and contemplative day; but I did appreciate the thoughts of you all.....

Today we decided to cheer ourselves with a road trip.  We journeyed up Loch Lomondside, stopping just before Tyndrum to enjoy our flask of coffee and home made fruit cake.  Then up past Bridge of Orchy, then the Black Mount, and soon we saw the hills of Glencoe.  One of my favourite places in the world, and where I spent a lot of time in my climbing days.  

We were sad to see a big stag dead at the side of the road, obviously hit by a car.  They are hard to miss as they dart across the road with no sense of danger.  It must have happened very recently.

We stopped a lot, having a walk around, and taking photographs; we were surprised at how little water there was at the Meeting of the Waters, showing what a dry springtime we have had.  At Glencoe village we turned along the old road through the village, passing the youth hostel where we spent many a weekend, and then back onto the main road south.  

We had a break at the Green Welly at Tyndrum, and had a meal there.  I had fish pie and it was really good, rich with lots of smoked fish. Of course I spent some money on 'sheepy' things in the shop. 

And home via Strathyre and Callander.  A lovely day out, a lot of driving for the HG and a lot of sitting, but most enjoyable.  The weather was a bit iffy, with some rain at times, but it added to the atmosphere.  My photos are all of Glencoe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.