Thomas Hardy chair!

As it was such horrid weather I decided to try and cover a leather chair where the leather was cracked and the outer coating flaking off. Chair too good to throw away and OK for bedroom use. Found an old duvet cover and proceeded to make a cover. I’ve never made a chair cover before but just went for it cutting, pinning, sewing , cutting and pinning a bit more and repeat etc. It’s not perfect but looks so much better than the old chair. While I was doing this I was listening to BBC Sounds...first the afternoon play this week...The Woodlanders and then I discovered Tess of the D’Urbervilles had been dramatised back in March and was still available. Really nice to listen to. I went to check which Hardy books we have...several including these two. Far from the Madding Crowd was published originally in 1874 .....our book was from 1974 so must have been my husbands before I met him! My grandparents and great grandparents were farmers in Dorset so when listening to these stories I think of what their lives must have been like. I don’t remember Jude the Obscure so maybe I shall read it soon.
I shall now remember Hardy when I look at the chair!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.