Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Baudin's Black Cockatoo

Out driving in Margaret River with Keith and Ann (Peter's in-laws) this morning when Keith (driving) spotted some Cockatoo's in a Jarrah tree and kindly pulled over knowing that I would like to attempt to get a photo of them. It is great to be out with someone who is a good bird spotter.

While Baudin's Black-Cockatoo (long-billed Black Cockatoo) Calyptorhynchus baudinii are found principally in the Jarrah Forests, they feed primarily on Marri. They use their long beaks to to break the hard marri nuts (commonly called honky nuts) and also have a habit of ripping bark from the trunks of Jarrah and Marri trees, looking for larvae.

When watering the garden this morning I spotted a beautiful spotted pardalote and raced inside to get my camera but alas it was gone when I returned. It was stunning with its bright yellow throat and yellow on its tail. Fingers crossed that I manage to get a photo of it before I return to Perth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.