Delicate

The Lewisia Tutti Frutti is back, and it is hugely delayed compared to last year when it flowered more or less as soon as it arrived in the package from Plants for Small Gardens.

I’m forced to blip my balcony garden as I’ve not been out. We’re both a little delicate after yesterday’s fun and games, when Mr A, in particular, had probably just a little too much of our host’s epic collection of single malts… 

I occupied most of the day by finishing my book, which was an excellent family memoir written by a superb professional historian (and he applied his historian’s craft to uncovering some interesting nuggets about his family and chasing up loose ends), who also managed to write about his family in an acute but unsentimental way. The best book I have read this year, I think. I made notes on that book and a previous one I had forgotten to do in my record of ‘all the books I’ve read in 2021’. I also caught up with the laundry and changed the bed. We now have a crisp, clean but unironed duvet cover. And it probably could do with ironing. Shame I forgot to do it when I got the ironing board out the other day (which is now a very rare occurrence, although I will have to do it again this week as Mr A wore a proper shirt last night).

It was the first day in a while that the temperature has crept above 10 degrees, and we had sun on the living room windows in the morning, so we haven’t had to have the heating on at all. But there was a pretty sharp wind this afternoon, so I canned any idea of sitting out on the balcony. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.