Day out

The weather was just beautiful this morning, although still only 5 deg C in the morning. Mr S and I went to do the shopping early, including picking up a new phone that was our daughter’s 21st present. After a lovely brunch, Mr S had to work, so I decided to have a nice touristy afternoon out.
With no set plan, I jumped on the train that gets me quickly to Lucern area and Vierwaldstättersee. The plan was formulated on the train. First of all, I got off the train in Brunnen, just in time to get on the Stadt Lucern Paddle Steamer, across to Ruthli, birthplace of Switzerland. Soon I arrived at a beautiful restaurant terrace, so decided to stay, enjoy the view and have a coffee and cake. What a treat, one of my favorite Swiss desserts, Schlorzifladen, a pastry with concentrated puréed pear compote, covered in an a layer of set custard. It was served with a Joghurt ice cream, absolutely delicious.
I walked up through the wooded hillside to a high level path with an excellent view of the lake, then down to Treib. I had to wait for the boat for 40 mins, a perfect opportunity to have a glass of wine, where we celebrated a friend’s wedding almost 22 years ago.
5km, 250m ascent, 2.5 hours with breaks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.