Tragedy Mono Monday

Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting this month, and the change of themes has suited me well today.
Something starting with T.
I popped into town today for some errands and then went along to the cemetery. A couple of weeks ago when trying to find this family grave I had no luck, but after contacting the council they sent me the exact location with good instructions to follow (stand with the tool shed in front of you, turn left, 10 rows up, 6 graves in) and now I’ve found it.
Why have I titled it tragedy, well, long story short, they both had a tragic ending. They were cousins on Mums side, and I remember the situation quite well even though I was only 15 at the time. Margaret had mental health issues. I suspect it was dementia, but 40 years ago it was really not talked about as openly as now, in fact it was something no one in the family really referred to at all. They had a suicide pact. Don smothered her with a pillow and then he tried to take his own life. However he survived, ended up in the local psychiatric hospital for about 18 months, but then managed to leave, went straight to Bedford river and drowned himself.
Lots of people have difficult lives I know, it’s just so sad that there wasn’t the support around in those days to help avoid this tragic story. Or - maybe there was and they just didn’t want it. I always think of them in a kindly way, even though I didn’t know them really, and it’s nice to think they are at least together in peace now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.